World Summit Youth Award 2011

Do you use your tech skills in creating websites like blogs, forum and digital arts to promote activities that supports the Millennium Development Goals? Well, this is your chance to be awarded not by cash but to be recognized in the world stage and discuss with masters in ICT for Development. 

What is the WSYA about?

The WSYA selects and promotes best practice in e-Content. It demonstrates young people's potential to create outstanding digital contents and serves as a platform for people from all UN member states to work together in the efforts to reach the Millennium Development Goals (MDGs).

What are the Millennium Development Goals?

The MDGs provide concrete, numerical benchmarks for tackling extreme poverty in its many dimensions. The eight goals were adopted by world leaders in the year 2000 and set to be achieved by 2015. Progress towards the goals can be measured using 60 indicators. People around the world work towards making development benefital for everyone by adhering to the MDGs. They work to:

   1 - Eradicate extreme poverty and hunger
   2 - Achieve universal primary education
   3 - Promote gender equality and empower women
   4 - Reduce child mortality
   5 - Improve maternal health
   6 - Combat HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases
   7 - Ensure environmental sustainability
   8 - Develop a Global Partnership for Development


How to win?

Young creators of digital contests can register their products themselves. An international young expert jury will then judge the products and decide on who will be a winner in each of the six WSYA categories.

What to win?

The Youth Award is not a cash award. The reward for winners is to be recognized on a world stage, to be invited to the winners' events, to be able to connect with each other and discuss with renowned experts in the field of ICT for Development. Last yearswinner's events took place in New York, USA.

  1. WSYA 2010 Winners at Stand Up Event in NYC

 Who is organizing the Award?

The WSYA is organised as a follow up activity of the World Summit on Information Society and its action plan towards the year 2015. The Youth Award is organised by the World Summit Award Network for the fourth time after 2005, 2009 and 2010. It is promoted in all UN member states through the networks of the World Summit Award (WSA) the UN Global Alliance for ICT, other participating UN Organisations and Agencies, governments and NGOs, youth organisations and all those committed to making a real difference in the achievement of the MDGs.

The WSYA Team is based at the International Centre for New Media (ICNM), an independent non-profit organisation based in Salzburg, Austria

When will the next competition start?

Application for WSYA 2011 will be possible from May to July 2011.


Popular posts from this blog

Wunder Carpool wonders.

Fiveolous Celebration

Intosan Hotel Restaurant